P1 AquaX

AquaX is the fastest growing personal watercraft championship in the world. Its rapid growth is owed to a simple, yet challenging race format that appeals to today’s personal watercraft users.

This year the program will include the unveiling of a professional level race series and expansion of two further championships in the Great Lakes region of the USA and in Southeast Asia.

Cookie Policy

This web site uses “temporary cookies” so that the site remembers what other items are in your “shopping basket”. In this situation a cookie is a small data file containing a single number (and no personal information) this cookie is never re-used. When you close your browser (Internet Explorer/Firefox/Safari etc), the cookie is destroyed.

We also use Google Analytics on our web sites to count traffic visiting the site. This cookie does not know or record any of your personal information, it merely records which pages are visited.This site uses cookies. Cookies are small data tokens that are used to pass information from page to page as you visit a web site.

Contact Info
  • Address: Queen Anne Mansions
    86/87 Wimpole Street
    London W1G 9RL
    United Kingdom
  • Phone: +44 (0) 20 7935 4977
  • Email: info@powerboatp1.com

MacClugage unbeaten as he extends championship lead in Islamorada

Race Results

P1 AquaX  Results   P1 AquaX Enduro Pro Islamorada

Rider Craft
Chris Macclugage Yamaha GP 25 25 25 75 1
Eric Francis Yamaha GP1800 18 13 18 49 2
Brian Baldwin Yamaha GP1800 15 18 11 44 3
Mike Klippenstein Yamaha GP1800 12 11 15 38 4
Chris Saxon Yamaha FX SVHO 11 12 13 36 5
Cyrille Lemoine Yamaha GP 13 15 0 28 6
Eric Lagopoulos Yamaha FX SVHO 9 9 9 27 7
Erminio Iantosca Sea-Doo RXP-X-300 6 8 12 26 8
Johnny Smith Yamaha VXR 8 7 6 21 9
Anthony Radetic Sea-Doo RXP-X-300 0 10 10 20 10
Jay Edworthy Sea-Doo RXP-X 10 6 0 16 11
Tommy Olswang Yamaha FX CRUISER SVHO 0 5 8 13 12
Daniel Steele Yamaha FX CRUISER SVHO 7 0 5 12 13
Jason Russo Yamaha FX SVHO 4 4 3 11 14
Victor Nolan Yamaha FX SVHO 0 3 7 10 15
David Chassier Kawasaki ULTRA 310 2 1 4 7 16
Didier Chabert Yamaha GP1800 5 2 0 7 17
Michele Colasanto Yamaha FZS SVHO 3 0 2 5 18
Paul Green Yamaha FX SVHO 1 0 1 2 19
Blaine Spooner Sea-Doo RXP-X-260 0 0 0 0 20
Tyler White Yamaha GP1800 0 0 0 0 21

P1 AquaX  Results   P1 AquaX 300 Am Islamorada

Rider Craft
Cody Tetreault Yamaha FX CRUISER SVHO 25 25 15 65 1
David Gorie Yamaha FX SVHO 18 15 18 51 2
Carlito Del Valle Sea-Doo RXP 300 12 13 25 50 3
Sophie Francis Yamaha FX 15 18 13 46 4
Derek Anderson Yamaha GP1800 11 12 12 35 5
Dave Davidson Yamaha GP1800 13 11 11 35 6
Brandon Diaz Yamaha FX SVHO 10 9 10 29 7
Enrique Chia Yamaha FX 7 7 8 22 8
Pedro Jimenez Yamaha FZR 8 6 6 20 9
Marco Mango Sea-Doo RXP-X-300 6 4 7 17 10
Yaniel Fiallo Yamaha FX SVHO 0 8 9 17 11
Christopher Landis Yamaha GP1800 9 5 0 14 12
Domenico Barilla Kawasaki ULTRA 310 0 10 0 10 13
Joe Mchattie Sea-Doo RXP-X-300 0 3 4 7 14
Reggie Biegler Yamaha FZR 0 1 5 6 15
Craig Macclugage Yamaha GP1800 0 2 3 5 16
George Holmquist Yamaha FX SVHO 0 0 0 0 17
Jeff Dowell Kawasaki 310R 0 0 0 0 18
Mike Arcamone Yamaha GP1800 0 0 0 0 19
Stefano Attianese Kawasaki ULTRA 300 0 0 0 0 20
Gary Shrigley Yamaha FZS 0 0 0 0 21

P1 AquaX  Results   P1 AquaX 250 Am Islamorada

Rider Craft
Kevin Sullivan Yamaha FXSHO 25 25 25 75 1
Chris Lewis Yamaha FX SHO 15 18 18 51 2
Carlos Vazquez Sea-Doo GTR-230 18 15 0 33 3

P1 AquaX  Results   P1 AquaX 200 Am Islamorada

Rider Craft
Jennifer Nolan Yamaha VXR 25 25 25 75 1
Eric Diaz Yamaha VXS 18 18 15 51 2
Jose Luis Gonzalez Yamaha VXR 15 15 18 48 3
Amanda Lecheminant Yamaha VXR 13 13 13 39 4
Jose Serrano Kawasaki STX 12F 12 0 0 12 5

It was yet another masterful performance from Chris MacClugage as he picked up a clean sweep of victories in rough conditions to put himself well clear of his rivals in the championship standings.

Eric Francis was consistent but couldn't land a blow on MacClugage

Eric Francis was consistent but couldn't land a blow on MacClugage

Coming into the weekend, MacClugage held a 40-point lead at the top of the championship standings but knew that any mechanical issues could bring him right back to the chasing pack.

However, the gremlins of race one in Sarasota seemed well behind the 2016 AquaX champion as he notched up three straight victories – although it wasn’t as easy as you might expect.

Rough conditions, in which both marine activity and incoming storms played havoc with the schedule, provided an excellent playground for top class racing.

Brian Baldwin had to settle for third for the weekend after a clutch problem in race three ended his chances of a victory

Brian Baldwin had to settle for third for the weekend after a clutch problem in race three ended his chances of a victory

MacClugage had no troubles dispatching his rivals in race one, holeshotting and never looking back, but in race two he had to face strong competition from both Cyrille Lemoine and Brian Baldwin.

In a thrilling finish, MacClugage took victory by just one boat length as he and Baldwin flashed past the finish line together.

Lemoine had served up to the pair in the early stages of the race and was looking to grab his first win of the season before taking a swim.

In the final race of the weekend it was Mike Klippenstein’s turn to take on MacClugage as he took the holeshot, battled hard with MacClugage and took the lead before pulling his lanyard and surrendering two places to eventually finish third.

Eric Francis put in another consistent performance to finish inside the top four in all three races and put himself second on the podium, whilst Baldwin suffered an issue with his clutch in race three and was forced to limp round for sixth and third for the overall weekend.

Klipper finished fourth ahead of the very consistent Chris Saxon, who has now well and truly cemented his place inside the top ten in the championship standings, with Lemoine back in sixth even with mechanical problems forcing him to retire from race three.

Eric Lagopolous on the Ford sponsored Yamaha was consistently eighth all weekend to land seventh spot overall, Erminio Iantosca took eighth just one point back and Johnny Smith’s consistent weekend landed him ninth.

Rounding off the top ten was Anthony Radetic who put a DNF in the opening race of the weekend behind him to finish strong with two sevenths.

Two rounds of the 2017 AquaX Pro Series remains as the roadshow heads north to Chicago for a second year running on 9-10 September.

Catch all the highlights of the weekend’s racing on our Facebook page!

2017 Results

P1 AquaX Teams
Pos # Team Pts
1st Yamaha Dave Lee - - - 15
2nd Yamaha Dave Lee - - - 15

For the first time, AquaX heads to Islamorada. Make sure you're with us on 19-20 August.

Islamorada is made up of six islands: Plantation Key, Windley Key, Upper Matecumbe Key, Lower Matecumbe Key and the offshore islands of Indian Key and Lignumvitae Key. It is located 90 minutes south of Miami in the stunning Florida Keys between the Everglades National Park and the beautiful waters of the Florida Strait.

Many view this spot as an island paradise which is the perfect family holiday place where everyone can find something to enjoy on land or sea. Islamorada has in fact been known to be the 'Sportsfishing Capital of the World' whether its' backcountry sport fishing, saltwater fly fishing or just some recreational fun - Islamorada has it all! It has also been rumoured to have the highest amount of 'professional offshore charter boats with tournament-grade captains' globally.

The deep blue waters, non-stop activities and spectacular views from every waterfront or bridge will leave you mesmerised.



84001 Overseas Highway
Islamorada, FL 32118

$199.00/night for Classic King or Double Queen + 12.5% Sales tax



Pelican Cove Resort & Marina

84457 Overseas Highway
Islamorada, FL 33036

No group block; Call hotel for rates and availability